A Tale of Two Cities: Balancing My Passions

If you could split your time evenly between two places, and two places only, which would these be?

Source: A Tale of Two Cities

The answer to this question actually comes quite easily to me as I have thought about it quite a bit. This is because I have two very distinct passions in my life. The first being freeskiing, the topic this blog is dedicated to, and the second being scuba diving. Luckily my two passions translate wonderfully into physical locations. On a large scale my love for freeskiing can be seen as a manifestation of my love for the mountains and my love for scuba diving as a love for the oceans. Now, I realize that those are two very large physical locations and not cities at all, but they make choosing my two cities extremely simple.

I have been very fortunate to be able to spend much of my life exploring the world through my two passions. I have skied at many a ski resort and dove in many an ocean. Throughout this time I’ve come up with a few of my favorite cities in the world. Because of this I have no doubt in my mind that the two cities I would split my time between would be:

Cairns, Australia and Breckenridge, Colorado

Cairns and Breckenridge are the premiere locations for each of my crazy passions. From Cairns you can experience the best scuba diving in the world as you are just a short boat ride from the Great Barrier Reef and all of its glory. In Breckenridge you will find one of the worlds premiere freeskiing competitions and some of the very best terrain around. In my opinion there are no two places better when it comes to freeskiing and scuba diving.

Sure if you are someone who is an avid skier or scuba diver you might think I’m silly for choosing these cities, as they both are major tourist spots. It’s true, in both cities you experience quite a bit of tourism. For those who seek solitude in the mountains and oceans that makes these cities seem less than ideal. For me however, I find this to be a great opportunity to combine all the things that I love: freeskiing, scuba diving, and interacting with people. I can think of nothing I would love more than to spend each day teaching people about freeskiing and scuba diving.

Leave a Reply

